Dealing with a battery charge, no matter what the circumstance behind it, comes with severe penalties in Florida due to the fact that there was some form of bodily harm involved. Even if the action was done unintentionally, you will be charged with battery. There may also be increased charges in the form or aggravated battery, where serious bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement is apparent.
Considering the potential for a complicated trial process, your defense strategy is a very important aspect of the case. If you develop a proper strategy with a qualified violent crime defense attorney, you have a much greater chance at getting these charges reduced, or even dismissed.
If you have been charged with battery or aggravated battery in the counties of Okaloosa, Washington, Walton, Holmes, Santa Rosa or Escambia, call Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today. With over 30 years of combined experience, the father-son criminal defense team has the knowledge and understanding of the Florida legal process to put you in a favorable position with regard to your case. Adkinson Law Firm, LLC offers free consultations to discuss your charges in detail. Take the step to getting your life back on track and call .
According to Fla. Stat. §784.03, battery occurs when an individual actually and intentionally touches another person against their will and causes bodily harm.
Some actions that can be considered battery can include hitting, punching, poking, slapping, choking or any kind of striking.
There are also cases where the battery charge will be increased, on the grounds that the victim was a public official of some sort or a certain age. The following are examples of the individual you may get a stricter sentence for:
For those convicted of a battery in Florida, the penalties will vary depending on the severity of the offense itself. Florida has two categories of battery: simple battery and felony (or aggravated) battery. Simple battery is considered a misdemeanor in the first degree which comes with a possible sentence of up to one year in prison and / or a fine of up to $1,000.
A person charged with a second battery offense can face a potential third-degree felony conviction. This sentence that may come with up to a five-year prison sentence and / or fines of up to $5,000.
On the other end of the spectrum, an aggravated battery conviction will come with much more stringent penalties. Because of its classification as a second-degree felony, an aggravated battery charge comes with the presumptive sentence of:
Considering the felony charge, aggravated battery has even more of a debilitating effect on employment opportunities and government aid, along with losing the right to vote or hold public office.
For those charged with battery offenses in the state of Florida, there are lengthy and expensive sentences if these criminal charges end in conviction, which makes the hiring of capable legal counsel very important in the process of fighting these allegations. Call Adkinson Law Firm, LLC at to discuss your arrest with an experienced and effective DeFuniak Springs violent crimes attorney who is well versed in Florida law and can help put your life back on track.
Our firm proudly represents individuals throughout the Florida Panhandle, including Crestview, Fort Walton Beach, Destin, Niceville, Mary Esther, Shalimar, Laurel Hill, Chipley, Vernon, Wausau, Ebro, Caryville, DeFuniak Springs, Freeport, Paxton, Bonifay, Esto, Westville, Noma, Milton, Gulf Breeze, Jay, Pensacola, Century and nearby areas. You can also submit an online form to request a free, confidential consultation.