If an individual is convicted of assault with a deadly weapon in Florida, he or she can face several years in prison. If convicted, individuals may also have limitations placed on their future employment or educational opportunities because of their criminal record. If you have been charged with assault with a deadly weapon, contact a dedicated violent crimes attorney who will work hard to protect your future.
If you are facing charges for assault with a deadly weapon in the counties in and around Okaloosa, Washington, Walton, Holmes, Santa Rosa, or Escambia, it is in your best interests to retain legal counsel that can aggressively defend your case and keep you from dealing with the consequences outlined in Florida law.
The legal team at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC has over 30 years of combined experience defending those accused of various crimes in Florida and will use this legal know-how to develop a proper strategy for your personal situation. The attorneys are dedicated to helping give you the chance to move on with your life without the worry that this charge will follow you down the line. Call for a free consultation today.
Assault is defined by Fla. Stat. § 784.011 as intentionally harming or threatening to harm an individual, when the offender has the apparent ability to do so. In order for an individual to be guilty of assault, the threat must make the alleged victim fearful that violence is imminent.
According to Fla. Stat. § 784.021, if an individual uses a deadly weapon to commit assault, with no intent to kill the alleged victim, he or she is guilty of assault with a deadly weapon. Any object used or threatened to be used in a way that is likely to cause great bodily harm or death, is considered a deadly weapon.
In Florida, assault with a deadly weapon is considered a third degree felony, and carries a potential prison sentence of up to five years, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
If a firearm is used during the commission of the assault, offender will be required to serve at least three years behind bars. An offender can also have his or her charges upgraded to a second degree felony if the offense was committed against a law enforcement official, firefighter, or an emergency medical technician. A second degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Assault with a deadly weapon is a serious criminal offense that can lead to many years behind bars. If you have been charged with this offense in or around the cities of Crestview, Fort Walton Beach, Niceville, Shalimar, Cinco Bayou, Chipley, Vernon, Ebro, Bonifay, Westville, Milton, Gulf Breeze, Jay, Pensacola and Century, contact the DeFuniak Springs criminal defense attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today.
Make the decision to fight for your freedom by contacting Clay Adkinson at or submitting an online form to set up a consultation to discuss your case. Your initial consultation is free, and it is the first step in developing your personalized defense.