Assault takes many forms and can be the result of issues such as an argument that goes too far or a simple loss of one’s temper. No matter what the cause, theFlorida courts take this offense very seriously and may order harsh sentencing
With the possible negative effects leaking into your social and professional life, it is imperative that you make sure to provide a proper defense to the charges that you face. Hiring a qualified and experienced criminal attorney can take all the factors of the case into account and put you in a favorable position.
If you or a loved one is currently being charged with an assault or aggravated assault offense in the counties of Okaloosa, Washington, Walton, Holmes, Santa Rosa, or Escambia, it would be in your best interest to retain competent legal counsel that can argue your case in an efficient and effective manner. Call the Adkinson legal team at to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and take advantage of their over 30 years of combined experience.
The state of Florida defines assault as when an individual: Intentionally threatens another person by words or action to violently harm that person. It is also a required element that the alleged assaulter appeared to have the ability to carry out the threat and the other person was justifiably afraid of being assaulted (Florida Statute §784.011).
Under this law, an assault offense does not have to include actual physical touching of another person, making an accusation sometimes difficult to defend and difficult to prove. This makes hiring a knowledgeable defense attorney all the more important so you can be sure that you have an effective defense that takes all variables into account.
As for the penalties, an assault offense is a misdemeanor of the second degree, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 60 days in jail and / or a fine of up to $500 or probation.
There are also certain situations where the charge will be increased to a misdemeanor in the first degree. This usually happens when the individual knowingly assaulted an individual of a certain profession or age group. Some examples are:
An assault offense is considered aggravated assault when a deadly weapon is used during the commission of the offense, or if the assault is committed with the intent to commit a felony.
An aggravated assault offense is considered a felony of the third degree, which is punishable by up to five years in prison and / or a fine up to $5,000.
Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC to discuss the circumstances regarding your alleged assault or aggravated assault offense. DeFuniak Springs criminal defense lawyers Clay and Clayton Adkinson will use their more than 30 years of combined experience defending individuals against assault charges in Florida courts to help you achieve the best possible outcome regarding your particular case.
Call or submit an online form for a free consultation if you were charged with an alleged assault in or around the Florida Panhandle. We help residents facing criminal charges in such communities as Crestview, Fort Walton Beach, Niceville, Destin, Shalimar, Bonifay, Westville, Milton, Gulf Breeze, Jay, Pensacola, Century, and many others.