While any allegation of sexual battery should be objective and based on facts, many such cases often end up becoming "he said, she said" versions of events. As a result, these types of cases are more prone to false or exaggerated charges, a sexual battery accusation can become a very tricky situation.
With what can be lost, socially, financially and professionally if convicted of sexual battery, it is important to do everything in your power to pursue a positive outcome if you are accused of this crime. This may come in the form of a case dismissal, a not guilty verdict, an acquittal, or minimized sentencing.
The legal team at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC have over 30 years of experience defending individuals accused of sexual battery in the counties of Okaloosa, Washington, Walton, Holmes, Santa Rosa and Escambia. This experience has brought a knowledgeable and studied perspective to their defense strategies, allowing for an effective and capable handling of your case.
If you or a loved one has been charged with an alleged sexual battery charge, take then necessary step and call Adkinson Law Firm, LLC at to schedule a consultation to discuss the details of your case.
According to Fla. Stat. § 794.011, sexual battery is defined as oral, anal, or vaginal penetration by the sexual organ of another or any other object.
A person who committees sexual battery can be charged if:
According to Fla. Stat. § 794.011, it is a capital felony for a person 18 years of age or older to commit sexual battery on a child under 12 years old and / or injure the child’s sexual organs during the attempt, either without the persons consent or the offender uses or threatens to use a weapon that will likely cause severe injury. This is punishable by life in prison or death. However, this is a life felony that can be punished with up to 40 years in jail or life if the offender is less than 18 at the time of the offense.
If the sexual battery was committed on a victim 12 years or older, without the threat or use of a deadly weapon, the offender will be charged with a first-degree felony offense. This can punishable up to 30 years in state prison and / or fines of up to $15,000.
It is a second-degree felony offense to commit sexual battery on a person 12 years or age or older, without the person’s consent, and not use physical force or violence likely to lead to severe injury. A second-degree felony comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 15 years in prison and / or up to $10,000 in fines.
Defending a sexual battery charge is very important in protecting yourself from the unintended and detrimental consequences that inevitably come with a serious sex offense such as this. If you or a loved one has been charged with sexual battery anywhere in the Florida Panhandle, do not delay in seeking legal counsel.
The Walton County sexual crime attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC represent clients in such communities as Crestview, Fort Walton Beach, Destin, Niceville, Valparaiso, Mary Esther, Shalimar, Wausau, Ebro, Caryville, DeFuniak Springs, Gulf Breeze, Jay, Pensacola, and Century. Call or submit an online form today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.