Lewd or lascivious assaults are serious crimes that are often classified as felonies. In Florida, there are a large number of acts that can be classified as lewd or lascivious. If you have been accused of lewdness, it is important to contact an attorney who may be able to prove that there were mitigating factors in your case, which could lead to a reduction or dismissal in your charges.
Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC for a consultation about your alleged lewd or lascivious assault throughout the Florida Panhandle, including the areas of Crestview, South Walton, Fort Walton Beach, Milton, Navarre, DeFuniak Springs, Pensacola and Panama City.
The attorneys of Adkinson Law Firm, LLC are experienced defending sex crimes and will make every effort to help you avoid the most serious penalties and repercussions to your alleged offense. Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC for a free consultation today at if you have been charged with lewd or lascivious assault.
Under Florida Statute § 800.04, if an individual engages in sexual activity with a person who is between the ages of 12 and 16, he or she is guilty of a second-degree felony.
An individual can also be charged with this offense if he or she encourages, entices, or forces a person who is under the age of 16 to engage in sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality, prostitution, or any other form of sexual activity.
Sexual activity is defined as any oral, anal, or vaginal penetration or union, by another’s sexual organ, or by an object.
An individual who intentionally touches the breasts, genitals, or buttocks of an individual, who is less than 16 years old, is guilty of Lewd or Lascivious Molestation. If an individual entices or forces a person who is under the age of 16 to touch the perpetrator, he or she can also be charged with this offense.
If the defendant is 18 years or older, and the victim is less than 12 years old, this offense is considered a life felony.
Defendants who are under the age of 18 who commit the offense against someone who is less than 12 years old can be charged with a second-degree felony.
An offender who is 18 years or older, who commits this offense against a victim that is 12 to 16 years old, is guilty of a second-degree felony.
If an individual who is less than 18 years old commits this offense against an individual who is between the ages of 12 and 16, he or she is guilty of a third-degree felony.
Under Florida Statute Section 800.04, an individual who intentionally masturbates, exposes his or her genitals in a lewd or lascivious manner, or commits a sexual act that does not involve the actual physical or sexual contact with a victim, is guilty of lewd or lascivious exhibition.
If the offender is 18 or older, the offense is considered a second-degree felony. For offender under the age of 18, it is considered a third-degree felony.
If an individual is convicted of a life felony in Florida, he or she can be sentenced to between 40 years to life in prison, and be ordered to pay a fine of up to $15,000.
A second-degree felony carries a potential prison sentence of up to 15 years, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Third-degree felonies are punishable by up to five years behind bars, and/or up to $5,000 in fines.
If you have been accused of a lewd or lascivious offense anywhere in the Florida Panhandle, make sure you have experienced legal counsel. The DeFuniak Springs criminal defense attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC represent clients in communities throughout Okaloosa County, Santa Rosa County, Bay County, Walton County, Holmes County, Washington County and Escambia County.
Clay Adkinson will make every to fight the criminal charges against you and help you achieve the most desirable outcome for your particular situation. Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today for a free consultation at or send an online message about your lewd or lascivious charges today.