Free Consultation

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

By law, any individual who has been convicted of a sex crime in Florida is required to register as a sex offender. Sex offender registration is not designed to humiliate offenders. It is designed to alert the public, and help protect them by keeping law enforcement aware of the sex offender’s location.

When an individual fails to register as a sex offender, he or she can be charged with a felony. 

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Destin Defense Attorney

Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC to discuss your alleged failure to register as a sex offender charges in Crestview, South Walton, Fort Walton Beach, Milton, Navarre, DeFuniak Springs, Pensacola and the surrounding areas. The attorneys of Adkinson Law Firm, LLC have the knowledge and experience necessary to fight and potentially suppress these charges.

Call Clay Adkinson for a free consultation today at to set up your free consultation. The attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC will work tirelessly to defend you against your charges.


Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Information Center in Florida


Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Florida

Section 775.21 of the Florida Statutes states, if an individual is convicted of a felony sexual offense in Florida, he or she is required to register as a sex offender/sexual predator in the county they live in. The registration must take place within 48 hours of establishing residence in Florida, or within 48 hours of being released from jail or prison. During the registration process, the offender will be fingerprinted and photographed, and will be required to provide his or her:

  • Name;
  • Address;
  • Date of Birth;
  • Race;
  • Height and Weight;
  • Hair and Eye Color;
  • Social Security Number;
  • Telephone Number;
  • Place of employment; and
  • Date and location of each sexual convictions.

Penalties for Failing to Register as a Sex Offender in Florida

In some cases, depending on the offender’s criminal history, he or she may be required to re-register two to four times per year. If a sexual offender fails to register or reregister at the required time, he or she can be charged with a third degree felony, which is punishable by up to five years in prison, and/or be ordered to pay up to $5,000 in fines.


Fighting the Charges against You

If you have been charged with failure to register as a sex offender in the Florida Panhandle, you will want to make sure that you have legal representation. The DeFuniak Springs criminal defense attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC represents clients in such areas as Vernon, Pensacola, Bonifay Westville, Jay, and Freeport.

Clay Adkinson of Adkinson Law Firm, LLC is a diligent criminal defense attorney who will use his knowledge and tenacity to defend you against these criminal charges. Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today for a free consultation at or send an online message about the allegations against you.