To most people, criminal trespassing is known simply as going onto someone’s property when you are unwelcomed. However, there are a number of different circumstances in which an individual can be charged with criminal trespassing, and the penalties associated with this crime can vary from scenario to scenario.
If you have been charged with criminal trespassing it is important that you consult with an experienced attorney to discuss the details of your particular case, and see what defense options are available to you.
Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC for a consultation if you have been charged with criminal trespassing in the Florida Panhandle, including the areas of DeFuniak Springs, Ponce de Leon, Westville, Caryville, Laurel Hill, and the surrounding areas. The attorneys of Adkinson Law Firm, LLC are experienced in dealing with criminal trespass cases and will work tirelessly to defend you against your alleged charges.
Call Clay Adkinson today at for a consultation on your criminal trespassing case in South Walton, Destin, and the surrounding areas. Your consultation is free and will provide you with the information and insight necessary to craft a strong defense.
Florida discusses laws concerning criminal trespassing in Chapter 810 of the Florida Statutes. There are four different ways in which you can be charged with this offense:
Commonly used words in association with criminal trespass are as follows:
Trespass in Structure or Conveyance is considered a second-degree misdemeanor, and carries a sentence of up to 60 days in jail, and/or up to a $500 fine. This charge can be upgraded to a third-degree felony if the alleged was armed with a dangerous weapon, while in the structure or conveyance. It would then carry a potential sentence of up to five years in prison and/or up to a $5,000 fine.
Trespass on Property other than a Structure or Conveyance is a first-degree misdemeanor which has a potential sentence of up to a year in jail, and/or up to $1,000 in fines. If the alleged was armed with a dangerous weapon the charge can be increased to a third-degree felony.
Trespass upon Grounds or Facilities of a School is considered a first-degree misdemeanor and an individual charged with this crime can be sentenced to up to a year in jail and/or up to a $500 fine.
Trespass on School Property with Firearm is a third-degree felony that has a potential prison sentence of up to five years, and/or fines of up to $5,000.
If you are facing criminal charges for allegedly trespassing in the Florida Panhandle, contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today. Clay Adkinson of Adkinson Law Firm, LLC is an aggressive DeFuniak Springs criminal defense lawyer who will use his knowledge and persistence to defends clients in such areas as Cinco Bayou, Valparaiso, Crestview, and Fort Walton Beach.
Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today for a free consultation at or send an online message about your criminal trespass case.