Dealing with a domestic violence situation is almost always going to be a stressful and anxiety inducing experience. Due to the potential consequences of being convicted of domestic battery, the steps taken to defend yourself are some of the most important decisions you can make.
This should include hiring a qualified criminal defense attorney who has a strong understanding of Florida’s domestic violence laws, along with experience successfully defending individuals in similar situation as the one you are facing. This is especially important in a case like domestic battery where false or exaggerated charges are a very real possibility.
If you are dealing with a domestic battery charge and would like to move on with your life, get in contact with the experienced legal defense team at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today. With the possibility of additional issues arising, like child protective services taking your children from your custody, action should be taken to fix the situation.
You can take advantage of a free consultation to discuss your case and see first-hand how the attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC will approach your case, along with learning the options you have at your disposal. If you have been charged with domestic battery in the Florida Panhandle, particularly in the counties of Okaloosa, Washington, Walton, Holmes, Santa Rosa, or Escambia, call for a free case consultation.
Domestic battery will be considered on the basis of whether domestic violence occurred. According to Fla. Stat. §741.28, domestic violence includes any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death of one family or household member by another family or household member. Family or household member means: spouses, former spouses, person related by blood or marriage, person who are presently living together or resided together in the past, and persons who are parents of a child in common regardless of whether they have been married.
In a situation of domestic violence, battery is committed, according to Fla. Stat. §784.03, when a person:
A conviction related domestic battery charge in the state of Florida comes in the form of a misdemeanor in the first degree, which is the state’s most serious misdemeanor classification. Being convicted may lead to a sentence of up to one year in prison and / or a fine of up to $1,000.
If you have one prior domestic violence conviction, the charges will be much more severe due to the fact that you will be charged with a felony in the third degree, which comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 5 years in prison and / or up to $5,000 in fines.
Considering that a domestic battery charge in Florida is not only a serious offense, but also a politically and emotionally charged issue, developing an effective defense that enables you to fight the charges in an efficient manner will give you the chance to walk away with your life intact. Contact Adkinson Law Firm, LLC to take advantage of over 30 years experience representing clients just like you in domestic violence cases.
Our father-son legal team focus on being client-first DeFuniak Springs criminal defense attorneys who strive to give you the most competent and effective legal counsel possible. Call or submit an online form to schedule a free consultation if you have been charged with domestic battery in the Florida Panhandle. This includes the cities of Crestview, Fort Walton Beach, Destin, Niceville, Mary Esther, Chipley, Caryville, DeFuniak Springs, Bonifay, Westville, Noma, Milton, Gulf Breeze, Pensacola, and Century, and nearby areas.