Commercial drivers who are found to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs face serious consequences. Florida law dictates that harsh penalties can be applied, including jail time, heavy fines, loss of driving privileges and probation. Commercial drivers who are charged with DUI in their personal vehicles may still face repercussions in their profession, such as having their commercial driving privileges revoked.
It is imperative that you act quickly to minimize any penalties and fight to keep your driving privileges. Minimizing this stressful situation may be as simple as enlisting a skilled defense lawyer. Legal counsel can prepare you for the process of fighting for a not guilty verdict or getting your charges dropped altogether.
Because these charges can be devastating, not only to your current job but can leave a mark on your record that can prevent future employment opportunities, it is important to fight a DUI accusation as quickly and thoroughly as possible. The attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC can help you to protect your professional and personal future by giving you personal attention.
Our attorneys are determined to give each client the highest level of personal care. We know how important your freedom is, and that's why we aggressively fight to have your charges reduced or dropped entirely. Contact us today at to schedule your free consultation.
According to Florida law, as outlined in Florida Statute Chapter 320, a person is considered to drive a commercial vehicle if the vehicle meets any of the following characteristics:
These qualities include 18-wheelers, dump trucks, cement trucks, other large construction vehicles, and shuttle buses and vans.
Under most circumstances, a driver is considered intoxicated if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 or above, but the operator of a commercial vehicle can face a DUI if their BAC at 0.04. This stricter limit means that due to body weight, metabolism, or other physical factors, it may take very little alcohol consumption for a commercial driver to be considered intoxicated and charged with a DUI.
Florida Statute 322.62 further outlines that any commercial driver with any alcohol in their system at all may not be in physical control of a vehicle. This offense is considered a traffic violation and carries up to $500 in fines.
According to Florida Statute 322.62, the potential penalties for a first commercial DUI can include:
The accused individual will also face a 24-hour mandatory revocation of driving privileges following the arrest.
In the event of a second arrest for a DUI, while driving a commercial vehicle, the potential consequences increase drastically to include up to nine months in prison, fines up to $1,000 and mandatory minimum sentences of 10 days in prison if convicted. If the second offense occurs within three years of the first, the offender's vehicle can be impounded for thirty days, and their driver's license may be suspended for up to five years.
If you are facing these serious penalties for a commercial DUI charge, you must act quickly to fight your criminal charges. Protecting your livelihood as a commercial driver is of the utmost importance, and at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC we can help you do that.
Our DeFuniak Springs criminal defense attorneys have experience representing clients with drunk driving charges in Destin, Santa Rosa County, Holmes County, Washington County, Escambia County, Okaloosa County, and surrounding areas. We can review your individual case and formulate a personalized defense strategy for you. Call us at today to schedule your free consultation.