Florida is a great place with many beaches and large bodies of water. This makes it an intriguing destination for individuals who are looking for a place to test out their new boat or go out and have fun on the water.
Sometimes that fun can go too far and can lead to an individual being accused of operating the boat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you have been charged with allegedly drunk boating, it is vital that you contact an experienced South Walton defense attorney immediately.
DeFuniak Springs Boating Under the Influence Defense Attorney
If you have been accused of boating under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the counties of Okaloosa, Washington, Walton, Holmes, Santa Rosa, or Escambia, it would be in your best interest to call the experienced and knowledgeable attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC. They are well-versed in all Florida laws pertaining to boating under the influence and have the ability to argue your case in a practical and effective manner.
During your free consultation, they will provide you with an honest assessment of your legal options. Call to schedule one today.
Under section 327.35 of the Florida Statutes, an individual is guilty of boating under the influence if he or she operates a vessel and is under the influence of alcohol or drugs to the extent to where his or her normal faculties are impaired, or has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.
If an individual is convicted of boating under the influence, he or she will be sentenced to up to six months behind bars, and/or a fine of between $500 and $1,000.
For a second conviction of this offense, there is a potential to be sentenced to up to nine months of imprisonment. An individual can also be ordered to pay a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000.
A third violation of this offense that occurs within 10 years of a previous conviction is considered a third-degree felony, which is punishable by up to five years in prison, and/or up to a $5,000 fine. If the violation takes place more than 10 years of after a previous conviction, an individual can be imprisoned for up to a year, and/or ordered to pay a fine that is between $2,000 and $5,000.
Any fourth or subsequent conviction is automatically considered a third-degree felony, regardless of when the most previous violation occurred.
If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges of boating under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the surrounding cities of Crestview, Fort Walton Beach, Destin, Niceville, Valparaiso, Mary Esther, Shalimar, Cinco Bayou, Chipley, Vernon, Wausau, Ebro, Freeport, Paxton, Bonifay, Ponce de Leon, Westville, Milton, Jay, Pensacola, or Century, it is in your best interest to have legal representation. Take advantage of a free consultation and call Adkinson Law Firm, LLC today at or send an online message.
The DeFuniak Springs criminal defense attorneys at Adkinson Law Firm, LLC are well-versed in criminal law and understand the intricacies of the complex Florida DUI process, and will use this knowledge to provide effective legal representation.